Filter content by area of interest
Ports & Terminals
Port AuthoritiesContainerBulkBreakbulk/General CargoRo-Ro/AutomotiveGTOs
Cargo Handling Equipment
STS CranesYard CranesMobile CHERo-Ro EquipmentBreakbulk EquipmentLow ThroughputBulk Handling Equipment
Shipping & Logistics
Container ShippingBreakbulk/General CargoRo-Ro ShippingDry Bulk ShippingLiquid cargoesLogistics
TOSPlanning & Optimisation TechnologyWiFiMobile ComputingPort Community SystemsAsset Tracking & Monitoring
Automated EquipmentGate AutomationRemote ControlProcess Automation
RailInland WaterwaysShortsea ShippingRoadAir-Cargo
Container Industry
Container manufactureContainer leasingRepair/StorageTradingConversion/Innovation
Operations/TransportContainer leasingEquipmentM&R/Storage
General cargoProject Cargo/Heavy LiftForest productsRo-Ro/AutomotiveAgribulks
Safety & Security
InsuranceHazardous cargoLashings/SecuringLegal/Regulatory
Civil Engineering
Port & terminal construction/designCivil & Consulting EngineersDredging & ReclamationMooring & FenderingLightingPaving & Surfacing
InsuranceLegal/RegulatoryAppointments/PeopleMergers/Acquisitions/RestructuringFinance/Financial ResultsTrade & Professional AssociationsBusiness/Commerce Miscellaneous
 View all Topics View all Topics A-Z
More View all Topics View all Topics A-Z

You are viewing 1 of your 1 guest articles

register  or  login  for full access to online news

Trump nominates Oberman to STB; Maffei leaves FMC; Schiaffino quits Ultramar; new leaders at Contargo and Konecranes Lift Trucks

President Trump has nominated Martin Oberman for the fifth and final vacancy on the Surface Transportation Board. Daniel B Maffei has departed the Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) after completing a one-year holdover period from his term’s official expiration on June 30, 2017. Lars Fredin leaves Konecranes Lift Trucks and is replaced by Andreas Falk; new R&D Director at Bromma

Linked InTwitterFacebookeCard

Martin Oberman is a former chairman of Metra, Chicago’s commuter rail system, and currently practices law in Chicago. He would fill the open Democrat seat on the STB, if confirmed by the Senate.


Daniel B Maffei has departed the Federal Maritime Commission after completing a one-year holdover period from his term’s official expiration on June 30, 2017. In a letter to the White House, Mary Pileggi, Chair of US shipper oranisation the National Indusutrial Transportation League called on President Trump to re-nominate Maffei, whose departure leaves the FMC with only two of its five seats filled.


The Port Management Association of Eastern & Southern Africa (PMAESA) recently appointed Col Andre Didace Ciseau of the Republic of Seychelles as acting Secretary General.

Andreas Falk
Andreas Falk

Jürgen Albersmann is the new managing director of Contargo GmbH &Co KG, succeeding Konrad Fischer, who has retired. Albersmann will be responsible for the group’s terminal activities, safety and procurement.


During a short ceremony on 4th July in Rome, Emanuele Grimaldi, Managing Director of the Grimaldi Group and President and CEO of the subsidiary company Finnlines, was honoured with the Commander of the Order of the Lion of the Republic of Finland. The Ambassador of Finland in Italy, Janne Taalas, declared that the award, conferred by the President of the Republic of Finland, Sauli Niinistö, is a recognition for the great commitment of Emanuele Grimaldi, through Finnlines, in developing maritime transport to and from Finland.


Andreas Falk is to take over from Lars Fredin as President of Konecranes Lift Trucks. Fredin is leaving Konecranes after nine years in charge at the Markaryd Business Unit as Senior Vice President of Konecranes. Falk joined Konecranes in 2011 and has been Sales & Marketing Director for the Lift Trucks Business Unit Lift Trucks since 2015. His successor in that post has not yet been announced.


Johan Bergman has been appointed Vice President of R&D in Bromma, based in the office in Stockholm, Sweden. Bergman joins Bromma from MacGregor, where he worked in the Cargo Handling, Offshore Deck Machinery and Smart Ocean Technology divisions, including heading the R&D and Technology development organisations and activities.


Woodliff Lake, NJ, USA: Greg Tuthill has been named Chief Commercial Officer of SeaCube Container Leasing Ltd. Tuthill served most recently as SVP and COO, Americas Region, for CMA CGM. He began his career in 1988 with APL and has also worked for NYK Line and later at TOTE Logistics.

Janne Taalas (L) and Emanuele Grimaldi
Janne Taalas (L) and Emanuele Grimaldi

Katrin Verner is the new Commercial Manager, Freight for Stena Line GmbH &CO KG Germany. She joined Stena Line from Euroports Germany, where she was responsible for sales and marketing and business development since 2013.


Denmark-based naval architecture firm Knud E Hansen has appointed one of its senior naval architects, Sam Stark, to head up a new Canadian office in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The office will focus on the growing maritime sector in the Canadian market as well as the increase in demand for ship tonnage in the Arctic region. Knud E Hansen’s existing Canadian clientele include Marine Atlantic Inc, BC Ferries and the Government of Newfoundland & Labrador.


Francesco Schiaffino has left his post as Director General of Chile-based Ultramar Group to "pursue new challenges." It is understood that Gabriel García-Huidobro, up to now Manager of Administration and Finance at Ultramar Holding and Director of Ultramar Agency, has taken up the post.

Katrin Verner
Katrin Verner

The Port San Antonio Board of Directors has selected Jim Perschbach, who has served in an interim role since March, as President & CEO.

Bremen, Germany: Steffen Leuthold has taken over as Director, Corporate Communications at Eurogate Group. Leuthold, who joins from the same position at Atlas Elektronik GmbH in Bremen, where he was also responsible for political affairs, takes over from Corinna Romke, who left the Eurogate on 31st May after 14 years of service.


Etta Weiner has become the new press and public relations officer in Port of Hamburg Marketing’s communication & information department. She replaces Julia Delfs, who is leaving the organisation after nine years, on 31 August.


The United Kingdom Warehousing Association (UKWA) has announced that its new Honorary President is Anne McIntosh - Baroness McIntosh of Pickering. Baroness McIntosh replaces Ivon Moore-Brabazon - Lord Brabazon of Tara - who recently announced his decision to stand down having served in the role for 26 years.


New York, USA: At the annual meeting of the American Club’s Directors, J Arnold Witte of Donjon Marine Co, Inc, and Markos Marinakis of Marinakis Chartering, Inc, retired from their positions as, respectively, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Board. George D Gourdomichalis of Phoenix Shipping & Trading SA was elected as the new Chairman of the Board and Robert D Bondurant of Martin Resource Mgmt Corp was elected as Deputy Chairman. Witte and Marinarkis were accorded the honour of continuing to hold their former offices emeriti.

Linked InTwitterFacebookeCard

You may also be interested in...

Records set on the west coast of USA

Transnet halts Durban Pier 2 upgrade project

Bolloré-led consortium wins Ibom tender

Baltimore considers full RTG conversion

Kolding in the cold

More automation for Oman’s port of Sohar

Related Stories

People on the move – Steffes to leave DB Cargo Intermodal?

Tarros Line hires for new service; new government affairs director at Port of Lo...

New E-Gates for Eurotunnel

IN Groupe (formerly Imprimerie Nationale) is to equip Eurotunnel’s terminals in...

OTB Bremerhaven stopped by the court

The Offshore Terminal Bremerhaven project has been stopped by the Administrative...

Seaborne Freight contract cancelled

The British Government has cancelled a £13.8M contract awarded to Seaborne Freig...
Linked In